Fellow Gallery

For more than 40 years, The Japan Foundation has provided support in the form of fellowships to scholars of Japanese studies, from Ph.D. candidates to preeminent leaders in their fields. These prestigious fellowships have given scholars the opportunity to conduct critical research in Japan.

In 2020, to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the founding of The Japan Foundation, Toronto, we shone a light on the Japan Foundation Fellowship program with the Fellow Gallery to commemorate past years of valuable intellectual exchange between Canada and Japan. We invite all of our supporters, patrons, and friends to meet our past Fellows and learn about their achievements and experiences during and after their fellowship.

Professor Dan Adler

2019 Fellow

Professor David Anderson

2009 Fellow

Professor Sonja Arntzen

1976-77 & 1990-91 Fellow

Professor Robert Bedeski

1980-81 & 1993-94 Fellow

Alan Belcher

1997 Fellow

Dr. Michael Berthin

2008-09 Fellow

Professor Andrew Campana

2015-16 Fellow

Honorary Professor Claude-Yves Charron

2017 Fellow

Dr. Ken Coates

2010 & 2014 Fellow

Jesse Cumming

2020 Fellow

Professor Michael Wade Donnelly

1995-96 Fellow

Akané D'Orangeville

2013 Fellow

Professor Emeritus David W. Edgington

2004-05 Fellow

Professor Gideon Fujiwara

2010-11 Fellow

Professor Jill L. Grant

1999 Fellow

Dr. Caitilin J. Griffiths

2004-05 Fellow

Professor Kimie Hara

2017-18 Fellow

Dr. Kazue Harada

2012-13 Fellow

Professor Ruth Emilie Scott Hayhoe

1996 Fellow

Dr. Carin Holroyd

2010 & 2020 Fellow

Professor Nam-lin Hur

1990-91, 1999, & 2004 Fellow

Professor Gergana E. Ivanova

2010-11 Fellow

Professor Tsuyoshi Kawasaki

2000-01 Fellow

Professor Jacob Kovalio

1996 Fellow

Professor Seng Kuan

2005-06 Fellow

Professor Namiko Kunimoto

2008 & 2016 Fellow

Professor Christina Laffin

2002-03 Fellow

Dr. Victoria Lee

2010-11 Fellow

Professor Matthew Linley

1997 & 2006-07 Fellow

Professor Marie-Josée Lorrain

2015-16 Fellow

Professor Brian K. MacLean

1993 Fellow

Professor Janice Matsumura

1991-92 Fellow

Dr. Susan A. McDaniel

2011 Fellow

Professor Levi McLaughlin

2007 Fellow

Dr. Rudiger Meyer

2010 & 2019 Fellow

Professor Joshua Scott Mostow

1994-95 & 2017 Fellow

Dr. David Murakami Wood

2019 Fellow

Dr. Simon Nantais

2007-08 Fellow

Professor Robin O'Day

2007-09 Fellow

Professor Hisako Omori

2006-07 Fellow

Professor Tsuyoshi Ono

2008 & 2012 Fellow

Professor Jerry Patchell

1989-90 & 1994-95 Fellow

Professor Emerita Laure Paquette

1997 Fellow

Dr. Maria Grazia Petrucci

2010-11 Fellow

Dr. Maxime Polleri

2015-16 Fellow

Dr. Robert Pontsioen

2016-17 Fellow

Professor Xiaoli Qin

2010-11 Fellow

Professor Geoffrey Rockwell

2011 Fellow

Professor Catherine Russell

1997 Fellow

Dr. Dominic Steavu

2006-07 Fellow

Professor Romin Tafarodi

2004 Fellow

Dr. Ming Tiampo

2009-10 Fellow

Dr. Chih-mien Adrian Tseng

2010-11 Fellow

Dr. Mitsuyo Wada-Marciano

2012 Fellow

Professor X. Jie Yang

1996 & 2007-08 Fellow